Mason of the Year

The Mason of the Year award is given to a Master Mason that has distinguished himself in Masonry during a given year. He does not have to be a Past Master or a Grand Lodge Officer. A Master Mason can be nominated by another Master Mason of a lodge.

Brother Masons in the advancing line are eligible for this award. This award will not be awarded posthumously and does not have to be awarded each year.

Strong emphasis will be placed on service to “Blue Lodge” within the State of Alaska.

Anyone may submit a recommendation for this award.

Brethren recognized as Mason of the Year

2022 – Bro. Dakota D. Davis
2021 – W.Bro. Allen A. Bell & Bro. Robert B. Stewart
2020 – W.Bro. Thomas P. Stroozas
2019 – W.Bro. James Dennis
2018 – W.Bro. Ronald E. Godden
2017 – V.W.Bro. Joe C. Darnell
2016 – V.W.Bro. William R. Roberts
2015 – V.W.Bro. David R. Oaks
2014 – W.Bro. John D. May
2013 – R.W.Bro. Jerome P. Wasson
2012 – V.W.Bro. Roger K. Hansen
2011 – V.W.Bro. Mike Starkey
2010 – W.Bro. Van O. Chaney (passed)
2009 – V.W.Bro. Marvin R. Harned (passed)
2008 – W.Bro. L. F. “Buck” Buxton (passed)
2007 – V.W.Bro. Harley Clough
2006 – W.Bro. Russell Sanders (passed)
2005 – R.W.Bro. James D Grubbs Sr.
2004 – V.W.Bro. Robert MacArthur (passed)
2003 – R.W.Bro. Gerald R. “Jerry” Fairley
2002 – V.W.Bro. David W. DeLong (passed)
2001 – W.Bro. Stanley L. Woodin (passed)
2000 – V.W.Bro. Milton M. “Tim” Routzahn (passed)
1999 – W.Bro. Harold Ervin (passed)
1998 – V.W.Bro. Clifford Darnell (passed)
1997 – V.W.Bro. Fred L. McGuire (passed)
1996 – W.Bro. Hazen R. Ricker (passed)

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑